Being arrested and charged with DUI/OWI or any other Drunk Driving charge doesn’t just happen to bad people. For many, this is the first time that they have ever been in trouble with the law. Unfortunately, Michigan drinking and driving laws are among the toughest in the country. A second or third offense is devastating with penalties including possible prison and indefinite license revocation. We will aggressively defend anyone charged with a Michigan drinking driving offense including Super Drunk, Child Endangerment or Zero Tolerance in all.
In Michigan, the legal alcohol limit for those over the age of 21 is up to a .07 percent. In other words if your blood alcohol level is a .08 or higher you will be charged with a drunk driving offense and if your blood alcohol level is above a .17% you will face a “Super Drunk” charge. You may also be charged with drunk driving if the officer believes that your ability to drive is substantially lessened by the consumption of alcohol or lessened to the point it would be noticed by another person.
A first DUI offense, without extenuating circumstances, is classified as a misdemeanor. There is the possibility of jail time involved in the sentence – the maximum jail sentence is 93 days, though most first-time offenders will not spend that much time in jail. Judges in some courts do routinely give jail time for even first time offenders. Your experienced DUI attorney will be able to tell you if you are facing such a judge.